Breathing In the New Year

me and my maxi coat

Once Christmas is past, I can’t wait to clear the decks and halls of all things holly and jolly. The new year awaits, and I am always champing at the bit with big, creative plans. Or at the very least, organizing and improving every aspect of my life.

When I was a teenager, I took my Christmas envelope filled with gift cash (bestowed from a family of modest means and big love—$10 from Nana and Pappaw, $5 from Great Aunt Peg, etc.) and hotfooted it to Pomeroy’s department store. There I ascended the escalator to the sewing department, settled onto a stool, and paged through Butterick pattern books that were starting to reflect the dawning of the Age of Aquarius. I took my time, wandering through the bolts of fabric, brushing my palms over wide wale corduroy and panne velvet, my eyes dizzily following psychedelic swirls. I loved synchronizing my creative vision to what was offered in that small city store. Could my end result rival what I coveted in my Seventeen magazine?

In 1969, it was a maxi coat with matching trousers, in a maroon herringbone wool. I remember this outfit distinctly because it involved more yardage than I had ever negotiated before, as well as a lining. But mostly because, upon completion, I realized that the lapels did not match.

Unintentional asymmetry was definitely not the look I was going for, and while I did wear my ensemble a few times, I was always too aware of my glaring mistake to enjoy any compliments I received. (I also tried to cover it with a scarf).

All these years later, there are many projects I am eager to start—and finish. I am at a point in my life where I trot out the “bucket list” label, only half-kidding. My only new year’s resolution is to engage in my passions and projects with the mindful zeal I once had. Ironically, now that there is less time for making mistakes, I realize that maybe there are no mistakes. Only efforts.

I still relish the fresh, open window of the new year. So, I will stick my head through it, and breath. Deep.

About DIRNDL SKIRT

Sharing my art and writing in a loosely gathered way that allows for meandering and taking the scenic route, I try to be mindful, meaningful, but still, at times, playful.
This entry was posted in little successes, making a list, organization, overview. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breathing In the New Year

  1. Great story and I am embarrassed. I had forgotten all about that sewing outfit. That is something great to tackle. Looks good on you. I remember my first dress I made in Home Ec. and afraid it would rib at the seams when I wore it.

Leave a Reply

